New Fellows

9 May 2018

We are delighted to announce the last three Fellows who will join the college in the Autumn.


Geraldine Wright

Biology: Professor Geraldine Wright

Professor Wright read Botany at Wyoming University before coming to Hertford College as a Rhodes Scholar to research a DPhil in Zoology. She held a postdoctoral fellowship at Ohio State University and is currently teaching at Newcastle University where she is Professor of Insect Neuroethology. Her research focusses on the behaviour, neurophysiology, and nutritional ecology of honeybees and bumblebees. Her lab studies how worker bees learn to identify floral traits like scent with nutrients they find in nectar, as well as studying how bees regulate their intake of macronutrients like carbohydrates and proteins. She will take up the position of Fellow in Comparative Physiology and Organismal Biology in Michaelmas 2018.


Andreas Galanis

Computer Science: Dr Andreas Galanis

Dr Galanis first studied at the University of Athens, before taking his PhD from the School of Computer Science at Georgia Tech University in Algorithms, Combinatorics, and Optimization. His research focusses on the interplay between approximate counting/sampling problems in computer science and phase transitions in statistical physics. He is currently a postdoctoral researcher in the Oxford Department of Computer Science and will join Hertford in the Autumn this year as our inaugural tutorial Fellow in Computer Science.


Kate Greasley

Law: Dr Kate Greasley

Dr Greasley read Law at New College, graduating with a first-class degree, before studying for the BCL and later DPhil. Her thesis focussed on the notion of personhood in relation to abortion laws, a topic on which she continues to specialise. During her time as a research student she held a stipendiary lectureship at Hertford College, and later took up a Junior Research Fellowship at University College. She comes to Hertford in Michaelmas Term 2018 from University College, London, where she has been a lecturer in the Law Faculty.